

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## **PRESS RELEASE**

## The European Lotteries Association elects new President and Executive Committee

*Krakow, 5 June 2017* - National lotteries united under the umbrella of The European Lotteries Association elected their new President and Executive Committee for the 2017–2019 period during the Association's General Assembly on 5 June 2017 in Krakow, Poland.

The General Assembly precedes 9<sup>th</sup> European Lotteries Congress in Krakow hosted together with Totalizator Sportowy.

Hansjörg Höltkemeier has been re-elected as the President of the Association through a direct vote of the members.

Hansjörg Höltkemeier has been a member of the Managing Board of the Deutsche Klassenlotterie Berlin (Germany) since 2005, a member of the Association's Executive Committee since 2009 and the Association's President since 2015.

'I am extremely honoured to have been appointed as the President of the Association for yet another term. As we are about to implement the new EL strategy, I look forward to continue working with my dedicated colleagues in the best interest of the society respecting the three core EL values – responsibility, society sustainability and integrity' Hansjörg Höltkemeier said.

The newly elected members of the Executive Committee of The European Lotteries Association are (in alphabetical order):

CHVÁTAL Robert, Chief Executive Officer, SAZKA a.s., Czech Republic

DAYAN Uzi, Chairman of the Board, MIFAL HAPAIS, Israel

GARCÍA Inmaculada, President and Chief Executive Officer, SOCIEDAD ESTATAL

LOTERÍAS Y APUESTAS DEL ESTADO, Spain

HAEK Jannie, Chief Executive Officer, NATIONALE LOTERIJ/LOTERIE NATIONALE, Belgium HÖLTKEMEIER Hansjörg, Co-Chief Executive Officer, DEUTSCHE KLASSENLOTTERIE BERLIN, Germany

KRIŽAN Franci, Member of the Board, LOTERIJA SLOVENIJE, d.d., Slovenia

MAGGI Giovanni Emilio, Director, SISAL Spa, Italy

MARTINHO Edmundo, Vice-President, SANTA CASA DA MISERICÓRDIA DE LISBOA, Portugal

PALLEZ Stéphane, President and Chief Executive Officer, LA FRANÇAISE DES JEUX, France



SAREKOSKI Olli, President and Chief Executive Officer, VEIKKAUS OY, Finland VLASENKO Evgeniy, Vice- President, Member of the Board, MSL, Ukraine

Arjan van 't Veer, appointed Secretary General in March 2017, is the Secretary to the Board.

## **ENDS**

For further information please contact:

Jutta Buyse, Deputy Secretary General, Brussels

Tel: + 32 (0) 2 234 38 27 Mobile: +32 476 89 63 76

jutta.buyse@european-lotteries.eu

European Lotteries (EL) is the European umbrella organisation of national lotteries operating games of chance for the public benefit. EL has members from more than 40 European countries including all EU Member States. The association's EU members contribute more than 20 billion € p.a. to the state budgets and the funding of sport, culture, social projects, research and other causes of general interest. Unlike many commercial online gambling operators, EL members only offer gambling and betting services in the jurisdictions in which they are licensed by the respective national government.